Log in Basket


Your basket is empty.

SU Awards: Shortlist

Rated 5/5 (1 person). Log in to rate.

SU Awards 2017


After receiving a record number of nominations for the SU Awards, we are pleased to announce the shortlist of nominees. 

The SU Awards are an annaul awards ceremony taking place at the University of Hertfordshire where we take an opportunity to celebrate the success stories of volunteers, societies, student groups, student reps, members of student staff and University staff and their achievements over the past academic year.

The shortlisting panel have met and agreed the final shortlist for the SU Awards, which will be hosted by Hew Stephens on Thursday 20th April in The Forum Hertfordshire. 

Student Staff Member of the Year

Julia Sanderson

Lauren Taylor

Joe Emmerson

Thea Symonds

Charlie Pearson

Wesley Pearson

Amy Henchy

Elizabeth Pike

Society Event of the Year

Expressive Society: Evacreate

Hindu Society: Holi Day

Pub Society: Pub Crawl

Ghanaian Society: Football Tournament

Pole and Aerial and DJ Society: Collaborative Event

Society Committee of the Year

Entrepreneur Society 

Pole and Aerial Society

Hindu Society

Midwiferery Society

Baking Society

Pub Society

Student Rep of the Year

Hinal Ghandi 

Jessica Scivier 

Michael Cheah

Michael Damasco 

Nouha Rakeeb

Shamza Talib

Yanista Arnaudova

Volunteer of the Year

Simone Bothwell

Sophie Chapman

Laura De Haan

Volunteer Project of the Year

Enactus - Bold

Enactus - Motiv8

Outstanding Contribution to Trident Media

Hannah Wileman

Tobi Olasupo

Matt Dowse

Ollie Price

You're Awesome

Ciara Campbell

Daniel Marques Sampaio


James Collett

Gerri Ward

James 'Jim' Willard

Janet Barlow

Justin Sausman

Lee Jerome

Rachelle Andrews

Sarah Koniotes

Sarah Snell

Raphaella Stadler

Susan Nimmo

Abbie Sanderson

Neil (UNO Bus) 

Society of the Year

Accounting and Finance

Big Band


Pole and Aerial 




Student of the Year

Aimone Shariff

Charlotte Thomas

Leanne Mary Borg

Hinal Gandhi

Jinoos Sotodeh

Suhrab Sayfi

Most Improved Society of the Year

Account and Finance






Pole and Aerial

Change Maker of the Year

Cage Boons

Daniel Akinbosede

James Cantwell

Laura Clipsham

Zeeshan Khan

Simone Bothwell 

Media Piece of the Year

Hannah Wileman: World Cancer Day

James Cantwell, Charles Smith, Inderpal Matharu: A commentary on Where is the Love? 

Tom Rowe: OVer the Edge, a Freshers' Story

Oliver Price: VC Acommodation Interview 


We will be announcing the full list of winners and highly commended at this year's SU Awards.

We will also be publishing a full report following the awards. 

Good luck to all of the short listed nominees. 


No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.

Other News

Announcement regarding President Elect of Hertfordshire Students’ Union

Adil Ur Rehman will not take up his post for the 2018-19 academic year and will be resigning his current post of Vice President Services effective immediately. His responsibilities will be shared amongst the Union’s other four sabbatical officers.

Win a year of Netflix or Apple Music!

Tell us about your university lifestyle and win a year of great TV shows and movies or a year’s access to over 45 million songs!

Students' Union Elections 2018 - The Results

This year saw a record number of students vote in the Students’ Union elections, with 5,062 of you casting your vote. See who your elected officers will be for 2017 - 18.


The University of Hertfordshire Students' Union © 2017. is a Charitable Company Limited by Guarantee, Company Number 7703890, Charity Registration 1143101

Powered by MSL