Log in Basket


Your basket is empty.

Trustee Board


Our Trustee Board has overall responsibility for the management of our organisation.


The Trustee Board of Hertfordshire Students' Union is responsible for ensuring that as an organisation, we are well run, have an effective strategic plan, our finances are secure and that we operate within the law. Day-to-day management and operations of the organisation are delegated to the Chief Executive Officer who is charged with bringing the strategy to life. 


Our Trustee Board is made up of:

  • 4 Officer Trustees - our Elected Officers are automatically assigned to the board
  • 3 Student Trustees - students who are currently studying at the University of Hertfordshire can apply
  •  4 External Trustees - external members who bring experience and expertise to the board

The following people attend the Trustee Board as ex officio members:

  • Chief Executive Officer
  •  Secretary to the Board


Officer Trustees

Karthik Kumar BonkurPresident

Karthik's role involves representing the student voice as a whole. As President, his key responsibility is to put the views of students first and lobby for their needs

Bobbie Jay – Vice President Activities

Bobbie's role includes developing sport and social activities on campus, overseeing student opportunities for fun and development and ensuring that all students are making the most of their time at university

Kayleigh Malone - Vice President Community

Kayleigh's role involves ensuring the welfare of students, working with on and off-campus partners to develop a strong community of students at the University of Hertfordshire

Muhammad Saad Raees – Vice President Education

Saad represents the academic interests of all University of Hertfordshire students and works hard in delivering for the benefits of students' studies at the University of Hertfordshire

Student Trustees

Bishal Saha

Kennery Borkhataria

Ishmeet Singh

External Trustees

Simon Petar - Deputy Chair of the Trustee Board

Simon is a communications and corporate affairs professional with over 15 years’ experience in public affairs, government relations, strategic communications, public consultations and crisis management. Simon has a long association with students’ unions having served on the NUS National Executive Committee following completion of his degree in Politics from Leicester University.  Simon is also a trustee of the Alan Senitt Memorial Trust


David Ball

David retired from the post of Dean of Students at the University of Hertfordshire in 2011, having had a highly successful career working in higher education in the fields of careers advice and pastoral care/student support.  He is a keen advocate of Hertfordshire Students’ Union and firmly believes in the impact of student representation.  David is also currently the Chair of the Patients Voice at the Garden City Medical Practice and represents patient groups at the East and North Herts Clinical Commissioning Group


Sarah Fuell

Sarah is a former banking executive with over twenty years' experience, having worked for Morgan Stanley and JPMorgan in Europe and Asia. Sarah is a supporter of Hertfordshire Students' Union and enjoys the interaction with the students and management team. Sarah is also a Committee Member for the Variety Catherine Awards which celebrates women in business


Stephen Isaacs

Stephen is a former student of the University of Hertfordshire, completing his Law degree in 2000.  Whilst a student at the University he worked within the Union’s entertainment team. Since leaving university Stephen has worked in corporate banking for a number of the UK’s leading banks and is currently Director of Portfolio Management at Santander


Ex Officio Members

Rebecca Hobbs - Chief Executive Officer

Christine Dixon - Director of Finance and Resources

Karen McKenna - Secretary to the Board


Contact Us

  • Hertfordshire Students’ Union

    College Lane



    AL10 9AB

  • 01707 285000

The University of Hertfordshire Students’ Union © 2019. is a Charitable Company Limited by Guarantee, Company Number 7703890, Charity Registration 1143101

Powered by MSL